Kaytlyn Johnson: Tasmanian Young Achiever Winner

The Honourable Elise Archer MP, Attorney-General MP, Minister for Justice, Minister for Corrections, Minister for Building and Construction, Minister for the Arts and Minister for Heritage representing The Honourable Peter Gutwein Premier of Tasmania announced Kaytlyn Johnson as the prestigious Premier’s Young Achiever of theYear Award winner, who was selected from the ten category winners.

Dave chats with Kaytlyn who firstly won the First National Real Estate Leadership Award from a strong field of young achievers and was presented by Ray Ellis, CEO, First National Real Estate.
The winners were announced last Friday in the Tasman Room at Wrest Point.
Kaytlyn Johnson, 19, of Lapoinya hopes to inspire Indigenous Women. Kaytlyn was selected as one of seven Student Ambassadors, as part of the celebration of 150 years of Public Education in Tasmania. She was a key member in “Project O” – a group of young women advocating for those without a voice. They held a ‘Colourathon’, which raised over $12,000 for women and children experiencing family violence. Kaytlyn was co-president of the Student Executive Council in high school and was the 2018 Tasmanian Indigenous Girls AFL Team captain.

Receiving an ATAR of 96.4 in Year 12, she was accepted into the University of Melbourne and awarded the Chancellor’s Scholarship.

The ten category winners are:
• Bryce Taylor, 21 of Railton – Colony 47 Transition to Work Award
• Bianca Templar, 26 of Ravenswood – Dental South First Nations People Achievement Award
• Kaytlyn Johnson, 19 of Lapoinya – First National Real Estate Leadership Award
• Lara Emmett, 21 of Ulverstone – Heather & Christopher Chong Community Service & Volunteering Award
• Liam Johnston, 18 of Underwood – Motors Tasmania Sports Award
• Beadoughs Donuts of Emu Heights – Qoin Small Business Achiever Award
• Holly Bowden, 28 of Sandy Bay – Spirit of Tasmania Tourism and Hospitality Award
• Grace Tame, 26 of Bellervie – Spirit Super Create Change Award
• Raw Strength Tasmania of Rokeby – St.LukesHealth Healthier Communities Award
• Jessica Benge, 28 of Port Sorell – TADPAC Print Service to the Disability Sector Award

Winners each received $1,000 thanks to prize patron, Axsys along with a magnificent trophy. Kaytlyn Johnson received an additional $2,000 from the Tasmanian Government and a State trophy.
Bron Shelverton was also announced as the People’s Choice Award winner and received an accommodation package from Free Spirit Pods including two nights’ accommodation for two in one of their luxury Pods, plus a $60.00 voucher to use at The Bruny Island Hotel.

Other Articles You May Like

Entertainment and Arts

The Power of the Gospel to Bring Peace in ‘The Convert’

By: Michael Walsh When Thomas Munro (Guy Pearce) arrives in...

June 18, 2024

Pecan Pie Slice – Delicious and Gluten Free

By: Susan Joy This healthy Pecan Pie Slice is extra...

June 18, 2024

Voting is Now Open for the 2024 People’s Choice Awards

by Kim WilkinsonYou have the power to decide who will...

June 17, 2024

Top Baby Names in 2024

By: McCrindle For almost a decade McCrindle has analysed the...

June 17, 2024